Press "Enter" to skip to content

About 13,000 Migrants Were Returned From Germany in 2022

A total of 12,945 migrants were returned from Germany last year, marking a slight increase compared to 2021 figures.

Currently, Germany and all the politicians of the European Union are discussing ways to strengthen their return policy for migrants who have either been refused asylum, are not qualified for it or have committed a crime. Thus, this means that they can legitimately return them to their countries of origin, reports.

As InfoMigrants reports, in 2021, a total of 11,982 migrants were returned from Germany, while in 2019 the figures were almost double, during which year more than 22,000 foreigners were also returned from this country.

Returns include people who were sent back to their country of origin, as well as returns that were part of the Dublin Agreement, which means that the asylum seeker had already started an asylum process in another EU country and had to be sent there to complete it instead of being processed again in a second EU country.

In this regard, the conservative opposition parties in Germany said that about 50,000 people had their asylum requests rejected, while they complained that the return of 13,000 of them was too little.

According to the left party (Die Linke), instead of Germany making efforts to increase the number of returnees, it should offer better policies so that people stay and build a future in the country, as it will be able to work and contribute to German society.

Moreover, by the end of last year, there were at least 304,300 people in Germany who had been asked to leave the country. Of them, approximately 248,100 held a Duldung which suspends and essentially bypasses, at least temporarily, their notice to leave.

As a result, the current federal government in Germany is working towards strengthening the German states in their efforts to return people who do not qualify to stay in Germany.

Furthermore, Germany has made a return agreement with the following countries:

  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Armenia
  • Luxembourg
  • Belgium
  • Netherlands
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Guinea
  • Kazakhstan
  • Croatia
  • Kosovo
  • Lithuania
  • Latvia
  • Morocco
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Austria
  • Romania
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • South Korea
  • Syria
  • Czech Republic
  • Hungary
  • Vietnam

Recently, the EU Commission decided to make the return of illegal immigrants who stay without a base in the EU to their countries more effective. Thus, the authority has proposed four new operational strategies, aimed at increasing the total number of returns.



Spread the love