Press "Enter" to skip to content

Buhari sacks NSITF boss, reconstitutes Board

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the reconstitution and placement of a new 11-man management board of the Nigeria Social Insurance Trust Fund.

Olajide Oshundun, Director, Press and Public Relations, Federal Ministry of Labour and Employment, revealed this.

According to Oshundun in a statement on Thursday, this is in consonance with the provisions of Section 4 and the powers conferred on him by Sections 7 and 8 of the NSITF Act, CAP N88, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria (LFN) 2004.

He said: “The tripartite management board was reconstituted based on the provisions of the Act and following the expiration of the tenure of the former Chairman and non-executive members of the Board.

“Appointed as Chairman of the Board is Chief Emmanuel Nwosu, Fellow of the Nigeria Institute of Town Planners (FNITP), a seasoned urban planning and management expert, who is the immediate past chairman of the Nigeria Insurance Commission.”

Oshundun also added that the new Managing Director/Chief Executive is Maureen Allagoa, a lawyer and Fellow of Chartered Institute of Administration.

He said: “Allagoa is the immediate former Executive Director, Administration, with broad experience in many blue chip companies.

“She replaces the erstwhile Managing Director/Chief Executive, Mr Michael Akabogu who was removed for forgery of National Youths Service Corps (NYSC) certificate and low productivity.”

Oshundun said Modu Gana retained his position as Executive Director/Member in the new board, while Dr. Gabriel Okenwa fills the position of Executive Director (Administration)/Member.

He also said Adedeji Adegoke was appointed as the Executive Director (Finance and Investment)/Member.

He said Adegoke was promoted from General Manager Investment to Executive Director to fill the vacancy occasioned by the death of Temitope Caroline Akinwale, the immediate past Executive Director, Finance and Investment.

Oshundun said the other new members of the board are Marwan Adamu and Adewale Adeyanju, both representing the Nigeria Labour Congress.

He also disclosed that two representatives of the Nigeria Employees Consultative Forum were also members of the board.

They are Taiwo Adeniyi (President, NECA) and Celine Oni (Director, Learning and Development/Projects, NECA).

He said representing the Federal Ministry of Labour and Employment in the reconstituted board is Lauretta Adaogu, the Director, Occupational Safety and Health Department in the ministry.

According to Oshundun, the board also includes a nominee of the Central Bank of Nigeria as member.

He said the new Managing Director and Executive Directors had assumed their respective positions and duties with immediate effect from February 6.

He added: “The new management board will be inaugurated by the Minister of Labour and Employment.

“This is as soon as the security and other clearance processes of its memberships are completed by the security agencies and other affected bodies, on a date to be announced soon.”



Spread the love