Press "Enter" to skip to content

BWF Awards: 17-year-old Manisha became the best para female player, Prannoy missed

Manisha Ramdas won the gold medal in the SU5 category of the World Championship. He won a total of 11 gold and five bronze medals in 2022.

Manisha Ramdas is the youngest para badminton player from India.

Has achieved a lot of success at the international level. From Thomas Cup historic wins to All England and World Championship medals are also included. Para badminton players also left no stone unturned to bring laurels to the country. This is the reason why three Indians have been nominated for the BWF Award this year. Young Indian player Manisha Ramdas has been named the Best Female Para Badminton Player of the Year by the World Badminton Federation (BWF) for her stellar performance in the current season.

BWF declared 17-year-old Manisha the winner on Monday. Manisha won the gold medal in the SU5 category of the World Championships. He won a total of 11 gold and five bronze medals in 2022. Other contenders in this category included India’s Nitya Sri Sumati and Manasi Joshi, Serina Satomi, Giuliana Poveda Florence and Pilar Jauregui.

Pramod Bhagat and Pranoy missed the opportunity

Paralympic champion Pramod Bhagat and Thomas Cup winner HS Prannoy, however, lost out in the race for the BWF awards. Bhagat, who won his fourth singles gold medal at the World Championships this year, was named in the BWF Men’s Para Badminton Player of the Year category but the award in the WH2 category went to world champion and reigning Paralympic champion Daiki Kajiwara, who won a total of 10 gold and 10 gold medals. Won four bronze medals.

Viktor Axelsen Best in Men’s Singles

Apart from Kajiwara and Bhagat, other nominees for the award were Chieh Leek Hou, Lucas Mazur, Chiu Man Kai and Choi Jungman. Olympic champion Viktor Axelsen was adjudged the best player in men’s singles while Zheng Si Wei and Huang Ya Qiong won the best pairs award at the Best Badminton Players Awards. BWF said in a report on its official website that Axelsen won nine titles during the eligibility period from November 1, 2021 to October 31, 2022. He also won the World Championship title for the second time during this period.

read this also

Akane Yamaguchi Best Singles Player

Akane Yamaguchi of Japan was selected as the best women’s singles player of the year, who achieved the feat of winning two consecutive world titles within nine months. He also won the title of All England and Japan Open. Other contenders in this category were Aan Se Young and Tai Tzu Ying. The most improving player of the year award went to the pair of Fajar Alfiyan and Mohamed Riyan Ardianto, who made it to eight finals in 2022 and won four titles.




Spread the love