Press "Enter" to skip to content

Ekiti Assembly reinstates three suspended lawmakers

Ekiti State House of Assembly has reinstated three lawmakers suspended following their roles in stalling the passage of the 2022 revised appropriation budget.

The lawmakers are Yemisi Ayokunle, Ajibade Raphael and Tope Ogunleye.

Their reinstatement followed the adoption of a motion moved by the leader of the House, Bode Adeoye, at the plenary on Tuesday.

Members unanimously adopted the motion, seconded by Biodun Fawekun.

The speaker of the house, Olubunmi Adelugba, had earlier read the letters of apology written by the three lawmakers at the plenary.

The lawmakers apologised for not following the directive of the All Progressive Congress on the choice of speaker to replace the late Funminyi Afuye, who died on October 19.

One of the suspended lawmakers, Kemi Balogun (Ado Constituency II), apologised and was reinstated on Monday.

With the lifting of the suspension, four of the suspended seven lawmakers were reinstated.

The house adjourned sitting thereafter to allow the various Committees of the House to scrutinise the 2023 Appropriation for eventual passage. 




Spread the love