Connect with us


Ganduje forwards eight commissioner nominees to Kano Assembly for screening



1BE04A5D 0032 45A9 A81F E20794CCB495 scaled

The Kano State House of Assembly has received a list of eight commissioner nominees from Governor Abdullahi Ganduje for the legislature’s approval.

Assembly speaker Hamisu Ibrahim-Chidari, announced this at the plenary on Monday.

The eight nominees include Ibrahim Dan’azumi, Abdulhalim Abdullahi, Ya’u Abdullahi-Yan’shana, Garba Yusuf-Abubakar and Yusuf Jibrin.

Others are Lamin Sani-Zawiyya, Adamu Abdu-Panda and Saleh Kausami.

Mr Ibrahim-Chidari said the nominees if cleared, would replace members of the state executive council who resigned to contest positions in the 2023 general elections.

He said the screening would be held on August 22 and directed the assembly clerk to notify the nominees.

Meanwhile, the lawmakers have approved the removal of three members of Kano State Assembly Service Commission, as requested by the executive, in accordance with the law.

The speaker said a letter from the government had indicated that the three officials had failed to perform their duties properly.

After deliberations, two-thirds of the lawmakers voted to relieve the affected officers of their appointment.

Those affected are Abubakar Salisu representing Makoda Local Government on the commission, Ladan Sabo-Ahmed, Sumaila LGA and Isiyaku Umar-Rurum, Rano LGA.

In another development, the assembly has adopted the report of its Committee on Emergency Management, which investigated recent fire incidents in Dawakin Tofa, Ungoggo, Gaya and Shanono local government areas.

The chairman of the committee, Aminu Sa’adu-Ungoggo, said they recommended the establishment of fire service stations in the affected local government areas to help respond to emergencies.

He said they also recommended that the State Emergency Management Agency provide the victims with building materials to reconstruct their properties. 


Source: GazetteNGR



Spread the love
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.