Press "Enter" to skip to content

INEC presents certificate of return to Sokoto governor-elect, Ahmad Aliyu, others

By: Olakunle Maruf – Sokoto

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Thursday presented the certificates of return to the Sokoto Governor-elect, Ahmad Aliyu Sokoto, and his deputy, Idris Muhammad Gobir, at a ceremony held at the headquarters of the Commission in the state capital.

Speaking while presenting the certificate to the recipients, the national commissioner in charge of Sokoto, Kebbi and Zamfara States, Professor Muhammed Kalla, called on them to repose the confidence of the electorate by giving them the dividends of democracy.

He said the people of the states had on March 18 choose their leaders in the election by electing the governor -elect, his Deputy and the thirty house of assembly members-elect for the next four years.

He, however, used the occasion to pray for guidance of God upon the new leaders to be able to deliver in accordance to the mandate giving to them by the of the state.

Speaking after receiving his certificate of return, the Governor -Elect, Ahmad Aliyu Sokoto urged the opposition to join his incoming administration to build a better Sokoto State.

While thanking God for the opportunity to emerge winner of the election, he commended the INEC in the state for conducting a free and fair election.

He also commended the support of the leader of the party in the state, Aliyu Wamakko, the chairman of APC as well as the party both at the state and national for giving him the opportunity to contest on the platform of the party.

Ahmad Aliyu however dedicated the victory of his election to the people of the state who came out in their numbers to elect him as the next governor of the state.

Continuing, the governor-elect called on other political parties, especially the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), to join hands with his administration in order to move the state forward.

The APC, apart from producing the governor-elect, is set to dominate the 10th state assembly in the state as the party boasts of 20 members, leaving the ruling PDP with just 10 members in the 30 members house of Assembly seat in the state.





Spread the love