Press "Enter" to skip to content

Nobel Prize in Medicine goes to Svante Pääbo

6d245e47 ea48 4727 a955 b8d22bb0be41


Research into evolution: Nobel Prize in Medicine goes to Svante Pääbo

This year’s Nobel Prize in the category of Physiology or Medicine goes to the Swedish physician and biologist Svante Pääbo.

The Swedish physician and biologist Svante Pääbo wins the Nobel Prize. (archive image)

key stone

This year’s Nobel Prize for Medicine goes to the Swede Svante Pääbo, who researches in Germany, for his findings on human evolution. This was announced by the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm on Monday.

Pääbo is Director and Scientific Member at the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology in Leipzig. Among other things, he was the first researcher to sequence the Neanderthal genome.

Since 1901, 224 people have received the Nobel Prize in Medicine, including 12 women. The first went to German bacteriologist Emil Adolf von Behring for discovering a therapy for diphtheria. Last year, David Julius (USA) and Lebanese-born researcher Ardem Patapoutian received the award. The two discovered cell receptors that humans use to sense temperature and touch.

More Nobel Prizes throughout the week

The Nobel Prize in Medicine kicks off a series of Nobel Prize announcements this week. The Nobel Prize in Physics will continue on Tuesday, and Chemistry on Wednesday, and who will receive the Nobel Prize in Literature will be announced on Thursday. The recipient(s) of the Nobel Peace Prize will be announced on Friday, and who will receive the prize for economics in memory of Alfred Nobel will be announced on October 10.

The awards are endowed with ten million Swedish crowns (about 890,000 francs). They will be awarded on December 10, the anniversary of the death of the prize donator Alfred Nobel. (dpa)



Spread the love