Nigeria Newspapers

NUC grants full accreditation to 18 programmes at Sokoto State University


Published By: Oluwapelumi Oluwayemi

The National Universities Commission (NUC) has accredited 18 undergraduate degree programmes at Sokoto State University (SSU).

This announcement was made in a statement by the University’s Public Relations Officer, Malam Zayyanu Shehu, on Friday in Sokoto.

Shehu stated that the full accreditation status was granted to all 18 programmes after a thorough evaluation by the NUC.

The summary of results, signed by the commission’s Acting Director of Accreditation, Mr. Abraham Chundusu, on behalf of the Executive Secretary, was presented to the Vice Chancellor, Prof. Bashir Garba.

The fully accredited programmes include Computer Science, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics, Microbiology, Economics, Political Science, Sociology, Arabic, Hausa, History, Islamic Studies, Education Computer Science, Education Mathematics, Education Physics, Education Biology, and Education Chemistry.

  • Osinbajo, Tambuwal to attend Sokoto varsity convocation
  • Sokoto State University joins strike
  • Sokoto State University gets new Bursar, Librarian

Prof. Bashir Garba, Vice Chancellor of SSU, expressed the university’s gratitude for the accreditation results and reaffirmed the institution’s commitment to maintaining academic standards and meeting NUC requirements for global ranking.

“This achievement highlights the University’s dedication to academic excellence and adherence to the highest standards set by the NUC,” Garba said, as quoted by Shehu.

He also emphasized the university’s readiness to allocate more resources for the accreditation of 60 other undergraduate and postgraduate programmes scheduled for review soon.

Garba thanked Governor Ahmad Aliyu of Sokoto State and Senator Aliyu Wamakko for their support and commitment to the university’s progress.

According to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), the NUC accreditation team visited the university between October and November 2023 to assess the quality and content of the 18 courses up for accreditation, out of the 78 undergraduate and postgraduate programmes offered by the institution.