Nigeria Newspapers

Restructuring: CIEN writes Tinubu, suggests move to 8 regions, 55 states, 6-yr rotational presidency


The Coalition of Indigenous Ethnic Nationalities (CIEN) said it has written President Bola Tinubu to propose the division of Nigeria into eight geo-political regions with approximate interim boundaries.

A chieftain of the Yoruba socio-cultural association, Afenifere, Dr. Akin Fapohunda, who also represents CIEN said the proposed regions include the southern region to be made up of Akwa-Ibom, Bayelsa, and Cross Rivers States and “optional inclusions of the Annang, Effik, Ekoi, Ibibio, Oro Ohaji/Egbema in Southern Imo, the Adonia, Efemia, Ijaw, Ogoni, Bini, Ishan, Isoko, Urhobo and the Ijaw-speaking people in Northern Ondo State with land contiguity.

“The South Eastern region consists of Abia, Anambra, Ebonyi, Enugu, and Imo States. The Western region comprises Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo, and Ekiti States, incorporating the Yoruba-speaking people in Kogi and the Igbomina people in Kwara State.

“Additional options would be the Itsekiri people of Delta State and Akoko-Edo people of Edo State to make their respective choices.”

Others include the Mid-Western Region made up of Edo and Delta States, possibly incorporating the Anioma people and the Eastern Middle Belt Region comprising Northern Cross River, Southern Kaduna, Southern Borno, Adamawa, Benue, Kogi, Plateau, Nasarawa and Taraba States.

The Western Middle Belt Region comprises Southern Kebbi, parts of Kwara and Niger States while the North Eastern Region will be made up of parts of Borno, Gombe, Bauchi, Jigawa, and Yobe States.

The North Western Region, according to the Afenifere chieftain, comprises Kaduna, parts of Kebbi, Kano, Katsina, Sokoto and Zamfara States.

CIEN has also suggested that the President move Nigeria to 55 states from the current 36 while also proposing a six-year rotational presidency as against four years with the option of a second term which is being operated.

CIEN in a communique said “The existing 36 States already have their constituent Local Government Areas (LGAs).

“The 2014 National Conference Chaired by Justice Idris Kutigi [Rtd] under former President, Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, recommended the following 18 new states to be created to bring the number of states in Nigeria to 54.

“But note here that an additional state, BOR! STATE has been recommended bringing the number to 55.”

On its proposed six-year rotational presidency,
CIEN said it is the Switzerland example, a Collegial Executive Council.

“The tenure of Office shall be non-renewable period or circle of Six (6) years,” the communique read in part.

“The rotation of leadership between the Regions shall be two (2) years for Prime Minister and Ceremonial President within the Six (6) years period.

“Within the first Six (6) years, Zones A, B & C would have taken turns and Zones D, E, F, G, H & | would have changed positions.

“The next circle of Six (6) years will then begin with Zones C, D & E taking turns of two years each, then F, G, & H in the third circle.”

The Letter in Full: CIEN Restructuring Recommendations 2024