Akinterinwa, others petition Appeal Committee over Ondo APC primary

Wale Akinterinwa e1708380418674

The Appeal Committee set up for the All Progressives Congress, APC, governorship primary in Ondo State says it has received three petitions from aspirants who participated in the exercise.

Mohammed Abubakar, the Chairman of the five-member Appeal Committee, disclosed this at a briefing with journalists in Akure.

Abubakar, former Governor of Bauchi State, said the petitions were received from Olugbenga Edema, Jimi Odimayo and Adewale Akinterinwa.

He explained that the three aggrieved aspirants complained that the primary did not hold in their various wards and the process was marred by irregularities.

“So far, we have received three petitions; one from Olugbenga Edema, Omoba Jimmy Odimayo and the last one from Adewale Akinterinwa after the conclusion of the primary and declaration of the candidate of the party,” Abubakar said.

Flanked by other members of the Appeal Committee, Abubakar said the committee would be expecting more petitions from any other aggrieved aspirants between Monday and Tuesday afternoon.

According to him, the secretary of the committee, Obiocha Israel, would be available at the temporary office in Akure within two days to receive the petition.

While promising to be fair in treating the petitions, the Appeal Committee chairman said his team would only work with facts and figures brought before it.

“The committee intends to be thorough. So, within the space of two days, we will sit down and deprive ourselves of sleep to attend to any issues arising from the primary. The committee intends to do a thorough job and we will be fair,” he said.

DAILY POST had reported that the APC primary was held at the weekend in the 203 wards of the state amid protests by aggrieved aspirants.

After the primary, the incumbent Governor Lucky Aiyedatiwa was declared winner and candidate of the APC in the November 16 guber poll.

Aiyedatiwa wins Ondo APC governorship primary [Full Result]