Apply For Women In Digital Economy Fund (WiDEF) Grants 2024 – Get Up To $1,500,000

1712233961692 750x375 1

The Women in the Digital Economy Fund (WiDEF) is extending an invitation to local entities in countries where USAID operates to submit applications for grants.

These grants aim to scale existing solutions that have shown measurable progress in closing the gender digital divide and contribute to transformative approaches to digital inclusion.


WiDEF seeks to support entities deeply embedded within their communities, showcasing successful approaches to advancing gender equality and digital inclusion.

The focus is on benefiting women, girls, and marginalized populations, including persons with disabilities and indigenous peoples.

Funding Criteria

Grants from WiDEF will support solutions that meet the following criteria:

  • Drive digital inclusion for women through meaningful access to and utilization of accessible digital technology, particularly smartphones and the internet.
  • Significantly reduce the gender digital divide within their respective contexts.
  • Demonstrate economic sustainability and scalability.

Funding Details

WiDEF offers support ranging from $500,000 to $1,500,000.


Both local nonprofit and for-profit entities are eligible to apply. Proposed solutions must advance digital inclusion and address gender constraints.

Additionally, integration of at least two core priority areas and the generation of data and insights are required.

Scalability across different contexts must be clearly articulated, and the adoption of gender-based violence mitigation policies for all digital inclusion activities is necessary.

Applicants must also meet USAID eligibility requirements.

Preference Criteria

Preference will be given to:

  • Women-led organizations proposing feminist, gender transformational solutions.
  • Entities with a proven track record of supporting gender equality and the inclusion of marginalized populations.
  • At least 50% of award funding will support entities in sub-Saharan Africa.

USAID Eligibility Requirements

All countries are eligible except for Afghanistan, Burma, China, Cuba, Haiti, Jordan, Lebanon, Syria, Venezuela, and India (for Round 1 funding).

Organizations must meet USAID Local Entity criteria, be legally organized in a USAID-assisted country, and comply with applicable sections in the Mandatory and Required-as-Applicable Standard Provisions for Non-U.S. Non-Governmental Organizations.

Deadline for applications: May 6, 2024.

Click HERE to apply