Nigeria Newspapers

Edo 2024: APC inaugurates campaign council


Adams Oshiomhole

Published By: Ayorinde Oluokun

By Jethro Ibileke

The Edo State chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Friday evening inaugurated its Campaign Council for the 21 September governorship election.

The Chairman of the Campaign Council and the Senator representing Edo North, Adams Oshiomhole, while Inaugurating the Council, said all members and supporters of the party are members of the Campaign Council.

He urged them to work hard to win their respective units and wards, adding “Every member is a canvasser.

He further stated that if it required him to take the role of a sweeper, he was ready to sweep Senator Monday Okpebholo into office as governor.

On his part, the Director-General of the Campaign Council, Senator Matthew Urhoghide, thanked the party for counting him worthy to be given the responsibility.

  • My party’s candidate in Edo gov. election difficult to sell- APC chieftain
  • Edo PDP campaign spokesman, Olu Martins, arrested, charged over inflammatory statement
  • Billboards: Edo govt warns LP’s Akpata against threat of violence

Urhoghide who admitted that the “task is huge because we are fighting the government in power”, however, said that with commitment, they will win this election.

Besides, he urged party members to resolve their differences and work hard for the victory of the party and de-emphasize the role of money.

Earlier, State Chairman of the APC, Emperor Jarrett Tenebe, acknowledge late Dr. Samuel Ogbemudia, Prof. Ambrose Alli and Comrade governor Adams Oshiomhole as three governors who provided good governance for the state.

He stated that Governor Godwin Obaseki was supposed to continue from where Oshiomhole stopped but he failed, adding that the result is the flooding Benin was witnessing and lack of red roof schools across the state.

Tenebe who expressed hope that the Senator Urhoghide-led Campaign Council would work hard to deliver victory to the APC, promised that by the time Senator Okpebholo and Dennis Idahosa come on board, those things would come back.