Five Crucial Decisions Taken By President Tinubu During FEC Meeting (FULL LIST)

Five crucial decisions taken by President Tinubu During FEC Meeting yesterday in Abuja can be accessed below.


NaijaOnPoint Nigeria reports that the Federal Executive Council was held on Monday and presided over by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu.


Here are some of the highlights of the far-reaching decisions taken during Monday’s FEC meeting.



Five Crucial Decisions Taken By President Tinubu During FEC Meeting (FULL LIST):


1. FEC approved the construction of Lagos-Port Harcourt-Calabar Coastal Superhighway to Messrs Hitech Construction Africa. The first phase, made up of 47 km will begin in Lagos.

2. Social security payments to the vulnerable households begin immediately. Recipients will be those with NIN and BVN.

3. Social security payments are to be extended to graduates from NCE and upwards.

4. Consumer Credit to be established very urgently. Chief of Staff to lead a committee that includes the Budget Minister, Attorney-General, and Coordinating Minister of the Economy and Finance, to make the scheme a reality.

5. The Council, in order to enhance efficiency in the Federal service, and reduce the cost of governance, decided to implement the recommendations of the Steve Oronsaye panel on the restructuring and rationalisation of federal agencies, parastatals and commissions.

The implementation involves merging, subsuming, and scrapping agencies with similar functions.

The Oronsaye report was submitted in 2012 to the Jonathan administration. In 2014, the Jonathan government released a white paper on the report. The Buhari administration, after re-examining the white paper, also released a second white paper in August 2022 but did not implement the report.

However, the Tinubu administration has decided to confront the monster of high governance cost by implementing elements of the report.

An eight-man committee has a 12-week deadline to ensure that the necessary legislative amendments and administrative restructuring needed to implement the reforms are affected in an efficient manner.


The committee comprises Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Head of the Civil Service, Attorney General and Justice Minister, Budget and Planning Minister, DG Bureau of Public Service Reform, Special Adviser to the President on Policy Coordination, and Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly. The Cabinet Affairs Office will serve as the secretariat.


Key recommendations for implementation include:


-National Salaries, Income and Wages Commission to be subsumed under Revenue Mobilisation and Fiscal Commission. The National Assembly will need to amend the constitution as RMAFC was established by the Constitution.

-Infrastructure Concession and Regulatory Commission to be merged with Bureau of Public Enterprise and be renamed Public Enterprises and Infrastructural Concession Commission.

-National Human Rights Commission to absorb Public Complaints Commission.

-Pension Transitional Arrangement Directorate (PTAD) to be scrapped and functions to be taken over by Federal Ministry of Finance.

-NEMA and National Commission for Refugees to be fused to become National Emergency and Refugee Management Commission.

-Border Communities Development Agency to become a department under National Boundary Commission.

-NACA and NCDC are to be merged.

-SERVICOM to become a department under the Bureau for Public Service Reform(BPSR).

-NALDA to return to the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Security.

-Federal Ministry of Science to supervise a new agency that combines NCAM, NASENI, and PRODA.

– National Commission for Museums and Monuments and National Gallery of Arts to become one entity that will be known as National Commission for Museums, Monuments, and Gallery of Arts.

-National Theatre to be merged with National Troupe.

-Directorate of Technical Cooperation in Africa and Directorate of Technical Aid Corp to be merged under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

-Nigerians in Diaspora Commission to become an agency under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

-Federal Radio Corporation and Voice of Nigeria to be one entity to be known as Federal Broadcasting Corporation of Nigeria.