Latest Today

Tinubu establishes climate action committee, appoints Ngelale as special envoy

Tinubu Climate envoy

PRESIDENT Bola Tinubu has formed a Presidential Committee on Climate Action and Green Economic Solutions to coordinate and oversee all policies and activities related to climate action and green economic growth.

The President also nominated Ajuri Ngelale, his Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, as the Special Presidential Envoy on Climate Action.

The President will chair the Committee, with Balarabe Lawal, the Minister of Environment, serving as Vice Chairman. Ngelale will act as the Committee’s Secretary as well as the Special Presidential Envoy for Climate Action.

According to Segun Imohiosen, Director of Information and Public Relations in the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, the Committee will remove coordination constraints, foster a whole-of-government approach to climate-action programmes, provide an efficient governance architecture, and ensure that all relevant institutions in the sector are plugged into the President’s vision and are collectively implementing the Renewed Hope.

The Statement however says, Ngelale will retain his office as spokesman to the President.

Other members of the committee are:

(1) Lazarus Angbazo (CEO, InfraCorp) – Member

(2) Salisu Dahiru (CEO, NCCC) – Member

(3) Michael Ohiani (CEO, ICRC) – Member

(4) Aisha Rimi (CEO, NIPC) – Member

(5) Aminu Umar-Sadiq (CEO, NSIA) – Member

(6) Yusuf Maina-Bukar (CEO, NAGGW) – Member

(7) Abdullahi Mustapha (CEO, ECN) – Member

(8) Abba Abubakar Aliyu (CEO, REA) – Member

(9) Uzoma Nwagba (CEO, CrediCorp) – Member

(10) Khalil Halilu (CEO, NASENI) – Member

(11) Fatima Shinkafi (CEO, SMDF) – Member

(12) Bala Bello (Deputy Governor, CBN) – Member

(13) Lolade Abiola (UN SE4ALL) – Member

(14) Teni Majekodunmi (NCCC Adviser) – Member

(15) Representative, Federal Ministry of FCT – Member

(16) Representative, Federal Ministry of Finance – Member

(17) Representative, Federal Ministry of Power – Member

(18) Representative, Federal Ministry of Industry, Trade & Investment – Member

(19) Representative, Federal Ministry of Water Resources – Member

(20) Representative, Federal Ministry of Agriculture & Food Security – Member

(21) Representative, Federal Inland Revenue Service – Member

(22) Representative, Nigeria Customs Service – Member

Meanwhile, the President also approved the appointment of The Infrastructure Corporation of Nigeria (InfraCorp) as the Lead Arranger and Developer of Evergreen City, Nigeria’s green industrial zone, with the following terms of reference:

(1) Selection of partners/consultants to undertake critical development activities, including project design, environmental impact assessments, feasibility studies, financial modelling, and market engagement.