Nigeria Newspapers

Tinubu names new South East nominee on CBN board

c6024f25 tinubuu

President Bola Tinubu has sought Senate’s confirmation for Ruby Onwudiwe as a replacement for Dr Kalu Eke, who declined the President’s nomination as a member of the Board of Directors of the Central Bank of Nigeria.

Kalu had declined the President’s appointment due to his engagement at the World Bank and other financial institutions.

Tinubu’s request was contained in a letter addressed to the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, which was read during plenary on Wednesday.

The President, in the letter, said the request for confirmation was in compliance with provisions of Section 10, Sub-section 1 of the Central Bank of Nigeria Establishment Act, 2007.

The letter read, “I am pleased to present for confirmation by the Senate, the appointment of Dr. Ruby Onwudiwe as a member of the CBN board of directors. The Senate is invited to kindly note that Onwudiwe is a replacement for Mr. Kalu Eke, due to the unavailability of Eke for the position.

“It is my hope therefore, that the Senate will consider and confirm in its usual expeditious manner, the appointment of Onwudiwe. Please accept the assurances of my highest regards.”

The Senate had on February 29 confirmed four out of the five persons nominated by Tinubu as members of the Board of Directors of the CBN.

Those confirmed were Robert Agbede, Ado Yakubu Wanka, Murtala Sabo Sagagi, and Muslimat Olanike Aliyu, but Eke did not appear before the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance and Other Financial Institutions for screening.

Although there was no formal explanation from Eke to the committee or the Senate, former Abia State governor and Senator representing Abia North, Orji Uzor Kalu, informed the Senate that the nominee not confirmed could not appear for screening to take up the role because it would conflict with his current job as a consultant to the World Bank, among others.

He added that Eke had already informed the CBN that he would not be able to take up the job being nominated for by the President.